wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

HELB. To pay or not to pay
gathinga
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 1:58:13 PM

I cleared my HELB loan two years ago. I really had no choice because my then employer was very strict and started deducting as soon as I penned my employment letter.

I overheard some new guys in the office discussing how to escape this. I promptly told them off and we got into an argument as to whether people should pay or not.

Their only point of argument was that the fund is grossly miss managed (talk of NHIF). The asministrative expenses are 40% of collection and the default is unbelievable. Apparently, without annual allocations from the budget, the fund is unsustainable.

Anyone with RELIABLE information on the financials of HELB?
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 2:44:54 PM

Gathinga, u borrowd a loan, pay it!

Bad management is not an excuse, pay.Whether you used it on fees or lavish campus living, pay.

What wil be the difference between you and the corrupt gvt officials?If you refuse to pay how wil you have made the situation better?Lipa ndugu,mimi namaliza mwezi ujao!
gathinga
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 2:54:15 PM

kadonye wrote:
Gathinga, u borrowd a loan, pay it!Bad management is not an excuse, pay.Whether u used it on fees or lavish campus living, pay.What wil b the diff btn u n the corrupt gvt officials?If u rfuse to pay how wil u hav made the situation better?Lipa ndugu,mimi namaliza mwezi ujao!

You came for me like am spring chicken!

I actually have completed my loan. My interest is in the finacial management of HELB. With the new consititutional dispensation, we must insist on probity in all goverment institutions. Moreso, we must ensure the generations to come enjoy better acess to financing of education than we did; if vision 2030 is to be achieved.
anasazi
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 3:12:57 PM

I can see corruption starts from the bottom up. Two wrongs dont make a right
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 4:10:25 PM

gathinga wrote:

You came for me like am spring chicken!

Sorry, but please let's all pay.smile
Layman
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 4:22:16 PM

Mismanagement is not applicable in this case .... you are loaned money, repay it back whether the lender uses it correctly should not be your worry.....
TUPAC
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 4:57:04 PM

cleared mine last july. after 8 years of repayment. it feels right to pay what you borrow so the loaning process is vicious!
...things fall apart...the centre cannot hold..mere anarchy is loosed upon the world...w b yeats
bird_man
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 5:31:14 PM

@Gathinga,kill the argument in your office by telling them that NHIF did not lend anyone any money....they are actually asking for money.HELB on the other hand lent them the money and they should just pay back.(If HELB was a person....wacha wakunywe yote,its their money!)

I started paying mine in January for the next 60months.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
chikita
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 5:33:06 PM

unlike the guys who use the HELB cash to live lavishly, there are really poor students who depend on that loan for their education. Without the loan they would otherwise be out of school. For their sake, its only fair to pay.
Besides, if anyone lent you money you don't care what they do with it once you pay back. Lipa madeni
kizee
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 5:34:28 PM

i aslo proudly repaid mine a cool 4 years ago..i cleared it over 3 years....it was a struggle..HELB and the HR where i worked then had calculated my repayment at a rather ambitous level becoz they though the money i earned then was a lot for a young man...lakini i didnt complain..u guys kno how some guys relied on HELB to pay for Uni..Gathinga u shud report those idiots in ur office who arent repaying theirs