wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

Reliable Data sources
passiveinvestor
#1 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 3:24:24 PM

Hi All,
I'm just starting to look into the NSE as an investment destination. Can anyone suggest any reliable data sources? I'm looking for historical data on NSE shares and can't seem to locate any reliable sources.

Also searching for any recent articles on fund manager performance in Kenya.

Any help would be HIGHLY appreciated.

Thanks
the sage
#2 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 3:49:14 PM

Reuters
passiveinvestor
#3 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 4:10:29 PM

Thanks. Any useful, thought out answers welcome.
mjuaji wa stocks
#4 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 4:56:13 PM

wazua veterans.....njun'ge; VVS na jammo lakini huyo alienda... smile smile

Ama check NSE website...kwa kua wewe ni mupya...io inawesa saidia...ikikataa .... lakini haiwezi kataa ... smile
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

My 2 cents
#5 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 5:03:56 PM

Ehh...company accounts?
passiveinvestor
#6 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 7:01:58 PM

Thank you "My 2 cents". It seems a few of the other respondents' concept of background research is reading the most current stock price and guessing if it's high or low...
sheep
#7 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 11:02:10 PM

Its a shame we have no readily available historical data of the nse from way back...like from the 80,s when the index was at 100pts...Id like to know the valuation of stocks then.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
tony stark
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 1:20:22 AM

passiveinvestor wrote:
Thank you "My 2 cents". It seems a few of the other respondents' concept of background research is reading the most current stock price and guessing if it's high or low...

Let the sleeping dogs lie!!
You are an idiot! I guess that is why you are a passive investor!
Use the Investment tab all the shares have historical data!!!
tkzee
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 9:24:02 AM

Nse outsourced those services to data vendors,check from their website to see the vendors.Alternatively,if you are able to log into my stocks the one for CFC you can be able to get the data from about 2002.
''i can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies,but not the madness of people''-Isaac Newton
the sage
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 9:42:23 AM

@Sheep, Reuters have a service which they charge $10,000 with all the historical data.
sheep
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 10:04:05 AM

the sage wrote:
@Sheep, Reuters have a service which they charge $10,000 with all the historical data.

Thats over 800k!!! Why cant our brokers make themselves useful and provide this data for their clients...I once asked my broker for historical data all the way from the 80's and he looked at me as if I was crazy.Without this knowledge we are living in a fools paradise...how can one know what is cheap and what is expensive as regards the NSE?
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
My 2 cents
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 10:50:57 AM

tony stark wrote:
passiveinvestor wrote:

There is absolutely nothing wrong with passive investing. Warren Buffet the greatest investor is a passive investor. So @passiveinvestor; keep passively investing. Do your research on the companies and then buy and hold rather than jumping in and out of the market based on some comments in Wazua!
passiveinvestor
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 12:16:02 PM

tony stark wrote:
passiveinvestor wrote:

tony stark
As a new investor, I am willing to admit when I do something stupid - or "idiotic" as you so eloquently put it. Nor am I adverse to asking obvious, basic questions. But pray tell, which "Investment" tab are you talking about and on which website?
passiveinvestor
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 12:41:42 PM

By the way, has anyone relied on the NSE handbook. Do you think it's a useful resource?
tony stark
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 07, 2010 10:19:33 PM

passiveinvestor wrote:
tony stark wrote:
passiveinvestor wrote:

tony stark
As a new investor, I am willing to admit when I do something stupid - or "idiotic" as you so eloquently put it. Nor am I adverse to asking obvious, basic questions. But pray tell, which "Investment" tab are you talking about and on which website?

you quote " a few of the other respondents concept of background research is reading recent stock price" na wewe ndio haujui how to use wazua to look at history.
Okay lets start open your internet browser( i hope you know what that it). Type www.wazua.co.ke.
Once the page loads depending on how long it takes look at the coloured tabs below the logo. the investor tab is blue. Click on it. On teh side of that page their is another blue tab called services and tools which is also blue. There you will get a large number of tools that can help a "new"( have you been new since 2008 when you joined stockskenya) investor who thinks the people who were contributing had no idea how to determine if prices are high or low.
For history go to stock profiler and you will get the history on prices some going up to 10 years.

So dear passive investor wewe ni fala and looking down on people who have more info than you is not wise.
If you are colour blind pole if you dont understand english then the instructions I gave you will not be helpful and my insult will not sting.
passiveinvestor
#16 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 12:34:08 AM

tkzee wrote:
Nse outsourced those services to data vendors,check from their website to see the vendors.Alternatively,if you are able to log into my stocks the one for CFC you can be able to get the data from about 2002.

Thanks "tkzee" will check it out.
passiveinvestor
#17 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 12:35:58 AM

tony stark wrote:
passiveinvestor wrote:
tony stark wrote:
passiveinvestor wrote:

tony stark

you quote " a few of the other respondents concept of background research is reading recent stock price" na wewe ndio haujui how to use wazua to look at history.
Okay lets start open your internet browser( i hope you know what that it). Type www.wazua.co.ke.
Once the page loads depending on how long it takes look at the coloured tabs below the logo. the investor tab is blue. Click on it. On teh side of that page their is another blue tab called services and tools which is also blue. There you will get a large number of tools that can help a "new"( have you been new since 2008 when you joined stockskenya) investor who thinks the people who were contributing had no idea how to determine if prices are high or low.
For history go to stock profiler and you will get the history on prices some going up to 10 years.

So dear passive investor wewe ni fala and looking down on people who have more info than you is not wise.
If you are colour blind pole if you dont understand english then the instructions I gave you will not be helpful and my insult will not sting.

Thanks. I stand corrected.