wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

CFC Financial Services - What's going on
#1 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 4:11:25 PM

Are the happenings reported in the press an indication of the rot at CFC Financial Services or are they isolated cases? Link below.

Illegal Trades at CFC Financial Serices
My 2 cents
#2 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 4:33:25 PM

Have had very good service with them; its been five years.
PKoli
#3 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 4:54:08 PM

Are the happenings reported in the press an indication of the rot at CFC Financial Services or are they isolated cases? Link below.

That must have happenned long time ago
#4 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 5:07:17 PM

PKoli wrote:

That must have happenned long time ago

Yeah - given the price they bought the KenGen shares at [Kshs. 37/=], but has anything changed? Maybe the show is still being run by the same people.
#5 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 5:38:07 PM

This story puts doubts in my mind considering it was just yesterday I was at their place enquiring about opening an account with them. Funny thing is that in just 10 minutes at least 3 people were at the counter asking for transfers to other brokers. But their website maintanance is now coming along fine
wote
#6 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 7:09:10 PM

CFC Stanbic financial services have just lost it and very soon they will have nobody using them as brokers.I just transfered my A/C after more than ten years doing business with them. Reason? i have to give them my account nos,three months certified banks statements, utility bills,my physical address and two passport size photos in this day and age and no guarantees should the same fall into the hands of fraudstars.
shenzitype
#7 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 7:36:23 PM

Though the case highlighted is a typical corporate mishap, am sure the employees was a young male employee, and me made a tidy sum from the way the story looks....

Funny, as this story broke my confidence in CFCFS is at an all time high. I have just activated my online a/c and am able to sell, buy, request for chq/eft..... The only thing I not able to do from my desk is credit my a/c with cash, for that you still have to bank the old fashioned way.

BTW please let me know if there is another broker offering clients an online access to their CDS a/c, with similar or more functions?Anxious

For now if you want to trade with them you will have to provide a lot of documents and sign a lengthy contract (most of it am sure are disclaimer of liability on their part). The documents are part of the CMA KYC and the recently enacted Anti-Money laundering Bill.

Kenyan's like to blame people for their omissions, in my three years with CFC I have never had a bad experience with them. Except for one time they failed to issue my chq then cleverly blamed me for having signed differently (I give that chick my marks for that clever cover upApplause ).The notion that they discriminate small time clients is there in the air but I don’t let it stop me from seeking information where I know am entitled to it.

I know for most parts, when trades do not go thro' it is mostly when clients decide to put prices way off the market price. This means your trade will be off the daily averages until the market moves and the daily averages fall within your price range.

Your experiences..........
#8 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 7:41:34 PM

I was asked for KYC information... I said sawa lakini return my old docs to me since who knows which maize seller will use them as wrapping paper???
Horton
#9 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 9:06:36 PM

I was asked for KYC information... I said sawa lakini return my old docs to me since who knows which maize seller will use them as wrapping paper???

was in the same predicament a few months ago....its jes easier if u jaza the docs....needed some dough and they refused to pay until they got KYC, needed the moolah ASAP....
Gatheuzi
#10 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 9:38:03 PM

I have been with them since 2003, I have had only one bad experience during Scom IPO---took 9 months for them to refund me some chums--thanks CMA came to my help.

Other than that, I think they are good.

On KYC, I would not be too hard on them...it is a good business practise and though taxing it is meant to improve and keep crooks like money laundrers at bay.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
#11 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 9:55:04 PM

Gatheuzi wrote:
I have been with them since 2003, I have had only one bad experience during Scom IPO---took 9 months for them to refund me some chums--thanks CMA came to my help.

Other than that, I think they are good.

On KYC, I would not be too hard on them...it is a good business practise and though taxing it is meant to improve and keep crooks like money laundrers at bay.

Lakini where are my old docs?
My signatures, copies of ID, bank details???
Horton
#12 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 10:03:58 PM

I asked about that, and they have them in some "archives" building or so they say....
#13 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 10:12:25 PM

Horton wrote:
I asked about that, and they have them in some "archives" building or so they say....
Yeah right... Like the pile of papers the maize sellers use to wrap up the roasted maize???
tkzee
#14 Posted : Saturday, September 04, 2010 7:18:33 PM

Its too bad that some greedy individuals in brokerage houses made money by exploiting weak system controls.BTW its not only CFC that was caught in this but others
like Nyaga were swept clean.
Who understands this statements
published by brokers like client debtors includes what??
''i can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies,but not the madness of people''-Isaac Newton
sheep
#15 Posted : Saturday, September 04, 2010 8:13:52 PM

brokers are having it tough...volumes are very thin,200m from 800m-1b a while back..considering the many new brokers competition is fierce...I expect 2011 to have several IPO's....I read the NSE plans to list 100 small co.s by 2015...but as we know this is hot air,what happened to demutualization plans? This is still a mafia bourse.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#16 Posted : Saturday, September 04, 2010 9:19:33 PM

Horton wrote:
Yeah right... Like the pile of papers the maize sellers use to wrap up the roasted maize???

never seen roasted maize wrapped in papers. Maybe roasted njugu...
#17 Posted : Sunday, September 05, 2010 12:45:31 AM

Horton wrote:

never seen roasted maize wrapped in papers. Maybe roasted njugu...
Dang, kwani my KYC docs are not even good enuff for roasted maize?
qw25041985
#18 Posted : Sunday, September 05, 2010 1:06:52 AM

I keep sayin over and over again ,PLEASE donot trade online with cfc fin. services. On their login url it doesnt use SSL encrytion ,like yahoo,ebay or other e-commerce websites.
I could easily get access to anybody's cfc online trading by simple password sniffing - if u are technology conversant u knw what i mean. So DONOT TRADE WITH CFC ONLINE !!!
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#19 Posted : Sunday, September 05, 2010 5:48:40 AM

I occasionally trade with CFC online. Worst case scenario, you hack in and get my password then sell my measly holdings. They always insist that cash proceeds are in form of cheque to the CDS name, and also physically collected. How can you get round that? BTW, they were https at one time.
#20 Posted : Sunday, September 05, 2010 9:15:01 AM

For now i will trade online. Its better than sending email or visiting their offices and lining up for 2 hours. If anyone trades my shares without authority i get an sms from CDSC. Cfc should however secure their system asap