wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

No freebies, no frills, AGMs
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 6:02:22 PM

So the new trend in Annual General meetings is to reduce costs, and small shareholders who attend get no bitings, no sodas, no gift packs, little dividend; and definitely no lunch!

What I must wonder is whether the savings are commensurate with other trifles the company spends on for the executive. And perhaps most indicting, is the lunch held for a few executives/directors/dignitaries after the exerting affair of dealing with the Wananchi.

Safaricom AGM took place at Bomas today, and key issues were:
1. no frills
2. dividend in cents

What say you on the first issue, any justice to the owners of the company?

#2 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 6:47:19 PM

Whooa, out of interest, just came across this note on twitter from the future CEO of Safaricom...
bobcollymore
At my 1st Safaricom AGM. Interesting listening to the concerns of 600 small shareholders present. Main concern is 20 c dividend.

mozenrat
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 7:48:08 PM

The one thing I took away from the AGM is that Kenyans need a lot of investor education..

Safcom did not pay out 20 cents.. it paid out Kshs. 8 billion which is 40% of its earnings..

this is comparable to with EABL which paid out 6.9 Billion from earnings of 12.5 Billion - 55.2%

Now consider that Safaricom is in telecomms which an extremely capital intensive sector... EABL might not have to change their machines every few years.. Telcos have to constantly keep up with technology.. Just the other day Safcom announced that they are starting 4G trials.... How much do you expect to be spent on that?

Yaani instead of people asking about strategies that the board has in place to fend off the PZain, they're asking about 20cts divs... If these guys have no plan, even 2cts will be a problem..
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 8:15:53 PM

Muganda, I think you are right on the fairness issue. The 'dignitaries' get whole buffets. Plus board members get a lot of money plus 'beneficial stock units'. Saw one story where a certain guy has specialised as a board member for different companies. He curremtly serves on 5 listed companies' boards. Last year he got himself 6 million just for attending meetings
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 9:23:56 PM

Actually the guy earned 34 million. Nothing personal against him though. www.nation.co.ke/busines...68/-/dyig9a/-/index.html
mozenrat
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 11:23:29 PM

I disagree with you... If indeed the experience or knowledge he brings to these companies has not resulted in growth in wealth that would allow him to be this well compensated, then am sure the shareholders of these companies would not allow him to continue serving...

If their not serving your interests use the power of your shareholding to vote them out...
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 11:29:35 PM

These guys bring a lot more to the Board than just business acumen. These firms want someone who can secure an appointment with the main guy when needed etc and at short notice. Udi Gecaga, Mark Too etc
PKoli
#8 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 1:51:14 PM

mozenrat wrote:
The one thing I took away from the AGM is that Kenyans need a lot of investor education..

Safcom did not pay out 20 cents.. it paid out Kshs. 8 billion which is 40% of its earnings..

this is comparable to with EABL which paid out 6.9 Billion from earnings of 12.5 Billion - 55.2%

Now consider that Safaricom is in telecomms which an extremely capital intensive sector... EABL might not have to change their machines every few years.. Telcos have to constantly keep up with technology.. Just the other day Safcom announced that they are starting 4G trials.... How much do you expect to be spent on that?

Yaani instead of people asking about strategies that the board has in place to fend off the PZain, they're asking about 20cts divs... If these guys have no plan, even 2cts will be a problem..

I am sure if safcom share was trading at 12 bob, investors who bought at 5 bob will not be asking for dividends day in day out. The problem is it has not compensated those investors who went during the IPO. Stagnant at the neighbourhood of 5 bob.
Jamani
#9 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 2:35:02 PM

mozenrat wrote:
I disagree with you... If indeed the experience or knowledge he brings to these companies has not resulted in growth in wealth that would allow him to be this well compensated, then am sure the shareholders of these companies would not allow him to continue serving...

If their not serving your interests use the power of your shareholding to vote them out...

That power will never win, atleast not in the near future, case in point is KQ, its pointless to waste your time to vote against just go there state you disatisfaction and raise your hand to re-elect the preselected team.
PKoli
#10 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 2:38:17 PM

Jamani wrote:
mozenrat wrote:

That power will never win, atleast not in the near future, case in point is KQ, its pointless to waste your time to vote against just go there state you disatisfaction and raise your hand to re-elect the preselected team.

True especially with the shareholding structure of most of our listed companies; either parastatal with government wielding more than 60% or family controlled business. Ordinary shareholders forget
#11 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 2:48:02 PM

true dat!
My 2 cents
#12 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 2:53:42 PM

A share consolidation of 1:10 would raise the dividend to 2/= per share. Safcom should consider consolidation.
#13 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 3:02:57 PM

PKoli wrote:

I am sure if safcom share was trading at 12 bob, investors who bought at 5 bob will not be asking for dividends day in day out. The problem is it has not compensated those investors who went during the IPO. Stagnant at the neighbourhood of 5 bob.

Safaricom is not an NGO why should it compensate its shareholders for the slow share appreciation.

Come to think of it if for instance safaricom was to give a 0.50c per share as dividends all its profit for the year would be wiped out and still borrow to service the dividends.
Jamani
#14 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 3:14:22 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
A share consolidation of 1:10 would raise the dividend to 2/= per share. Safcom should consider consolidation.

I hope people pumped some sense to management that they will be thinking in this direction am reminded though that this move is not support by law so someone should be pushed to work on it
PKoli
#15 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 3:17:23 PM

selah wrote:
PKoli wrote:

Safaricom is not an NGO why should it compensate its shareholders for the slow share appreciation.

Come to think of it if for instance safaricom was to give a 0.50c per share as dividends all its profit for the year would be wiped out and still borrow to service the dividends.

I was only expressing frustrations of shareholders. Was not saying they should pay high dividends. I am a believer of capital gains growth in the share, not so much on dividends. That is why I like ARM
#16 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 4:00:39 PM

My 2 cents wrote:

thats really 2 cents worth like your name. Even if they consolidate 1:1000 there is zero effect on dividend yield.
PKoli
#17 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 5:02:57 PM

My 2 cents wrote:

thats really 2 cents worth like your name. Even if they consolidate 1:1000 there is zero effect on dividend yield.

Sparkly could be right in a sense. consolidation will reduce free float and hence stabilize the price. Shares like ARM do not have high free float and hence the price is fairly stable, usually on the upper side. Even banks like Coop and Equity have less free float than KCB and hence they tend trade at a higher price
#18 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 7:15:03 PM

Many shareholders are idiots... Jamaa buys 1,000 shares @ 5/- & expects to be fed (200/-), given freebies like T-shirts (200/-), wants a nive venue (50/- pp) & a 1/- dividend (500/-)

Kwani??? That is 950/- which is 19% ROI... Go invest in Sasanet...
#19 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 10:18:46 PM

Many shareholders are idiots... Jamaa buys 1,000 shares @ 5/- & expects to be fed (200/-), given freebies like T-shirts (200/-), wants a nive venue (50/- pp) & a 1/- dividend (500/-)

@vvs eh hee kweli kabisa. Small shareholders are an expensive bunch. Btw does cables pay sh600 for an eft to send me my ka-dividend of sh80? In that case i won't complain if they buy me an umbrella,t-shirt and lunch lol
Jamani
#20 Posted : Saturday, September 04, 2010 12:10:14 PM

@vvs eh hee kweli kabisa. Small shareholders are an expensive bunch. Btw does cables pay sh600 for an eft to send me my ka-dividend of sh80? In that case i won't complain if they buy me an umbrella,t-shirt and lunch lol

The only way out for now is for investors with substantial shareholdings to come together and mop up all the shares with smaller shareholders, then hold on to the shares for a while. (Big fishing eating the small). I believe part of this is what pushed KQ share price to where it is. Only the small that are not hypersensitive should be left to stand and this will push the price north or stablise it