wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

Total Kenya HY Results
stock.enigma
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 10:26:02 AM

Looks like aquisition is yielding good returns. @qw, what do you see from the charts?
Jamani
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 10:40:00 AM

stock.enigma wrote:
Looks like aquisition is yielding good returns. @qw, what do you see from the charts?

Could someone kindly share the details of the HY report
mv_ufanisi
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 10:40:50 AM

stock.enigma wrote:

this question should be more like what do you see in the crystal glass?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 11:11:40 AM

The only problem is that this share does not seem to respond to any news: good or bad.
Jamani
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 11:12:11 AM

For the benefit of all, quote direct from website

The performance of the Company for the first quarter of 2010 is in line with the management projections. Sales volume went up by 134 KT as compared to same period in 2009 resulting not only from the merger but also from very good performance in the Network and Consumer Channels. This increase in sales volume led to an increase in the company's inland market share from 18.2 % in March 2009 to 31.1 % in March 2010.
Turnover went up by KSh 12,076 million as a result, coupled with increase in international oil prices. Gross profit on the other hand went up by over 300% due to positive margins in 2010 as compared to negative margins realised in the first quarter of 2009. Operating expenses increased by 77 % which is in line with increased operations for the merged company. Financial expenses went up by KSh 213 million due to interest charged on the medium term loan and the financing cost of the increased working capital requirements.
Net profit reached KSh 206 million compared to a net loss of KSh 109 million recorded in 2009. The performance for the remainder of the year is dependent on improvement in product availability to up country depots through the pipeline system, increased efficiency at the refinery and stability of prices in the international market. The management is also optimistic that we shall begin to realise the benefits of synergies of the merged company which have the potential for improved performance.

Felix Majekodunmi
Managing Director
mv_ufanisi
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 12:18:44 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
The only problem is that this share does not seem to respond to any news: good or bad.

Buy, hold and kula dividend. It never leaves 30.
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 12:51:05 PM

This counter gonna hit 33 and swing back. I always stoch at sub 30 level and on major announcement discard at 33-34 region, if dividends get me well and good, it is an added gain.
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 1:29:18 PM

I love the numbers. Goodwill reduced by 6B, yes 6B. Loan repayment and interest 800M, meaning ceteris paribus, Total will be debt free in only 7 years.
Tis a pity this stock is immune to announcements, but you can play with sh 3-4 gains without fear of a capital depreciation.
PKoli
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 1:38:15 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
I love the numbers. Goodwill reduced by 6B, yes 6B. Loan repayment and interest 800M, meaning ceteris paribus, Total will be debt free in only 7 years.
Tis a pity this stock is immune to announcements, but you can play with sh 3-4 gains without fear of a capital depreciation.

The value is yet to be unlocked, when it does, people will smile like those who bought ARM at 90 bob recently. They will not get ulcers when it drops from 160 to 145.
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 3:03:31 PM

Very domant stock indeed,with all the juice it has only pulled up 1.5bob and not for long,will it ever join the billion profit club of the kk's?
mkonomtupu
#11 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:50:00 PM

Total has entered into sale agreement with OilCom (K) Ltd Libya for service stations and the aviation assets from the Chevron acquisition and for sale of Nairobi LPG Gas plant to NOCK. The good times might be around the corner for this miserable stock.
BGL
#12 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 8:19:34 PM

Who is oilcom (K) ltd, this is a huge deal for a an unknown company which does not even have a website.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#13 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 10:10:59 PM

BGL wrote:
Who is oilcom (K) ltd, this is a huge deal for a an unknown company which does not even have a website.

Oilcom is a large TZ petroleum player.
sheep
#14 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 10:23:54 PM

Hii kitu ile wakati itaamua kulipuka itafika 60 in no time...watu waachwe wamezubaa!
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
mv_ufanisi
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 12:37:47 AM

Good news finally from this stock. I hope they make so much money from asset disposal that they give us a dividend of 6/- per share. I've been patiently waiting for so long ... so don't disappoint.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 12:56:25 AM

Highest ever archieved is 64.14 Ksh per share. I dont even remember what year that was.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 9:35:37 AM

I guess the shares available for trading are negligible.
the deal
#18 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 3:40:28 PM

The fundamentals of this stock have changed...theyre selling Assets...the sell will be a once of gain...just like Bamburi their share in ARM....
#19 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 4:13:15 PM

They were always going to sell in order to meet regulatory conditions. Question is, did they make a profit from the sale or did the Neanderthals at MOE force them to sell at a loss? So it might not be a gain after all.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 4:34:07 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
They were always going to sell in order to meet regulatory conditions. Question is, did they make a profit from the sale or did the Neanderthals at MOE force them to sell at a loss? So it might not be a gain after all.

True dat... Anyway, all proceeds will probably be used to pay down the debt...