wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

4 Pages«<234
Where do young people who make between 100k-200k a month live?
#31 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 8:44:15 PM

live where u want but at least save 10 % of ur gross salary then, invest 10% of the gross. That way even u squander the rest then u are ok even 4 all years.
#32 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 10:15:47 PM

They live anywhere between Kibera,Kawangware,Zimmer, outside Nai(Kinoo,Uthiru,Rongai,Ngong,Ruiru,Kiambu etc) to the western more affluent neighbourhoods of Ngong rd, Hurlingham,Westlandsetc.In short,it depends on your plans.There's no judging anyone.Some want to save and invest, others want to invest in their current lives
#33 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 10:19:29 PM

IT'd wrote:
I think I'll settle for the sq. in one of these estates.The problem with eastlands isn't that it's a bad hood but wenye chuki ni wengi..I can't dress the way I want or live the way I should as much as I have the means coz of fear of being mugged some day.Ama there are places where people don't mind how much what you wear cost?

I am not looking for a house-house,am still young,I just need to be away from my mum's ndio niharakishe hii process ya ku grow up.

Get a one bedroom house first. After you furnish it - bed, mattress, curtains, sofa, gas burner, microwave, telly, hi-fi, fridge, dvd, tv stand ndio utajua 100k is peanuts and your choice of where to live does not include westi, kile etc without spending all your money on rent.
#34 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 10:41:18 PM

@Sparkly, @IT'd could be earning 200k!
qadaffi
#35 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 12:25:56 AM

Not sure there is a right answer for this but I think you should ponder on:

i)where you want to be financially in 1,2,5,10...X years.
ii) To what extent is your choice personal or is it "peer pressure".

More or less the same advice that some guys here have offered.

I believe the same applies to deciding on what kind of car (if any to purchase). I recall being the odd guy in office because I was rising rapidly through the ranks (and earning what many would say is good cash) yet I was still riding matatus. My juniors were zooming past me in their cars as I hoofed my way at the office gates and my first stop would be to the washrooms to wipe the shoes. I also limited my entertainment severely. Reason: I wanted to secure a plot and start constructing my house within 3 years. I would not budge until I had the plot secured and construction in progress.

I eventually bought a car that I am sure many people would regard to be beneath me but it can move from point A to B and I am on track on the financial goals that I consider more important.

In the final analysis, your life is yours and yours alone. What other people think/would do is of secondary importance at most - I suspect it's of no importance at all.

groupielove
#36 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 12:26:27 PM

Needless to add anything. Everyone has their priorities in life. If yours is living comfortably now, then go for it as u can afford a decent house in kile and the sorrounding. I think security is a state of mind more than the actual threat. Most of us who live in Buru or umoja area have never considered our hood insecure.
4 Pages«<234