wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

Where do young people who make between 100k-200k a month live?
The Merchant
#21 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 4:05:11 PM

kikuyu, kinoo, muthiga , uthiru.... all on waiyaki way easy reach to town with no jam. Also depends on where you work.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 4:12:51 PM

mmarto wrote:
wakenya, lets be careful that we do not become a culture of consumerists; living beyond your means just to make an outward appearance. many young wazungus share flats till such a time they are fairly, financially stable. They are real

Forgot to add that most of them use public means to go to work.
mjuaji wa stocks
#23 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 4:49:41 PM

Mimi nakaa kinoo!! a 10k house; good parking and quite environment; condusive for my family!

Who said i should live in an xpensive estate just because i make >100k?

weeee Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#24 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 4:57:37 PM

Does it really matter where you stay? Rather, should what you earn determine where one stays?
or should it be the other way, where your goals in life determine what you need to earn?d'oh!
#25 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 5:52:13 PM

@IT'd - You should read, "How to get Rich - By Gerishon Kirima". Too bad it hasn't been published yet. As many people are telling you, don't let your earning power dictate how much you spend - especially recurrent expenditure. Higher earnings should be used to achieve your financial goals faster.

I have a friend who works for the UN. I doubt any of his workmates live in the estate [Middle income] he lives in. But guess what. He is now a landlord - he owns a flat - three floors in addition to the house he lives in. He has numerous plots & other investments. His friends? Some have resulted to "hook up" with elderly expatriates to maintain their lifestyles!!! Who would you wanna be?

It's very difficult to down grade your lifestyle. Choose a simple [but comfortable] lifestyle now and fast track your investments. You can always upgrade if and when you want. My two Zim cents.
mozenrat
#26 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 12:06:42 PM

IT'd wrote:
I think I'll settle for the sq. in one of these estates.The problem with eastlands isn't that it's a bad hood but wenye chuki ni wengi..I can't dress the way I want or live the way I should as much as I have the means coz of fear of being mugged some day.Ama there are places where people don't mind how much what you wear cost?

I am not looking for a house-house,am still young,I just need to be away from my mum's ndio niharakishe hii process ya ku grow up.

You obviously haven't visited buruburu in the heart of Eastlands... You think you have costly wear.. Hujaona wannabes till you've been to that place.

If its your first cager, go ahead and move into the SQ.. At least you'll have taken a step towards independence... but rest assured that in a year you'll be wondering why you're paying 15K to live in a house that can only fit one piece of the sofa set..
#27 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 4:40:24 PM

jangwa has hit the head on the nail...let your financial goals dictate where you will live.
An exception maybe, but remember there are many rich people living in majengo, kawangware,etc slums merely because they were brought up there all their lives.
tuvok
#28 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 10:21:58 PM

Another option that I've done previously is sharing a apartment, the resultant rent is less than 20k and you can live in a upmarket place yet not pay too much. Since the furniture is also shared, the initial costs are not too much since. Your circle of friends increases, and you never know whom you would come across... :) But I guess some people really would want to live alone.
luttz
#29 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 8:26:22 PM

It all depends on your goals in life. I remember a work colleague declining a drink offer from me because I lived in Eastlands (he lives in South C in own house). Last August, he visited my home in Nairobi and was lost for words; no comparison at all with his digs in South C. In life I personally opt for a lifestyle I can sustain. Why should I start off in an SQ in Buru and end up in Kayole? I would rather start in reverse and end up in some upmarket estate. Life is purely what you make it to be. With 100k, I will just head East, not west.
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
#30 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 8:39:28 PM

Aiii wewe kyt bana....Sagana to Nairobi-1:30. Pipeline to tao, 2hrs. Hope unanyita. There was a time i left for nyk fm the city n I got there b4 the lady who had zindikishad me got to innercore fm town!

but si ukifika thika road, hoping sagana is in thika road that is, si utapata na jam ya thika tu ama?:-/