wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

Upcoming Wedding
nyaca$h
#1 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 12:45:56 AM

Folks,I nd some help in preparing 4 my nuptials late next yr.
Here are my main concerns
1.Cost: How much to budget for around 450-500 guests.
2.Location shd be Nairobi.(Is it like real estate that location is everything?)How soon to secure that location.
3.Cost and suggestions of good photographers and videographers.
4.Need 4 a wedding planner and cost.(We are both in the diaspora with famo nyumbani lakini, not sure if we want to impose.)

We plan on not having a pre-wedding fund raising ju "wifey" thinks its "tacky" hence the long period to save up n also postpone the honeymoon!!

She is a student, work part time na I just started a blue collar jobo.

Saidia maskini:)...Thx
#2 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 12:08:53 PM

Do a mbuzi eating party and invite people who you think are capable of helping a brother out I hear now a days they are called cocktail party.

A wedding without involving your close relative is very strenuous and boring. I watch those Samantha bridal show and although the wedding looks flashy it lacks the the fire and excitement.

If you are a member of the church involve it too.you will be amazed how the church lessen most of the load that come with wedding preparations.

And finally remember the wedding is always about the wife to be , so in most cases opinion of man is rarely considered.

nyaca$h
#3 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 5:10:17 PM

@selah. Thanks some great ideas to consider.
Na hao "Wazuans" wengine je? For those of you who do weddings for a living or just went through it. Budget estimates na kadhalika tafadhali.

Thx
Wiztec
#4 Posted : Sunday, August 22, 2010 6:50:44 PM

I will be wedding this october first week, the preparations has been very enjoyable, the planning stred in jan this year by doing first visit to my gf place, then second visit sometimes in match after that we have been doing preparions with friends, ours is nota big a wedding we have paid about 80% of all providers and it now abt kshs 624k our guests will be 250 only and its a cad only wedding meaning no card no showing up... talk with your gf and plan together she must be having great ideas mine wife to be had.. and the process has been really sweat, have never enjoyed a project in my life like have enjoyed this wedding preparations...

NB I have a committee of 15 friends they play majpr part in identifying the providers and genrealmplanning, my gf and I do most things and we also pay.. friends can give whatever amount they feel like, but remeber we have not budgeted with their money... Good luck Kijana...
#5 Posted : Sunday, August 22, 2010 10:24:12 PM

@nyaca$h this is funny. You joined in 2008 and your only contribution is to ask for wedding advice? If not stocks and plots, the only good advice you get here is how to land your airbus in an airport and keep your pine used supple.
#6 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 9:03:54 AM

Wiztec wrote:
ours is nota big a wedding we have paid about 80% of all providers and it now abt kshs 624k

the final figure will come to 780k if not more, with that in mind describe a big wedding if this is not one
#7 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 9:14:54 AM

nyaca$h wrote:
1.Cost: How much to budget for around 450-500 guests.
2.Location shd be Nairobi.(Is it like real estate that location is everything?)How soon to secure that location.
3.Cost and suggestions of good photographers and videographers.
4.Need 4 a wedding planner and cost.(We are both in the diaspora with famo nyumbani lakini, not sure if we want to impose.)

We plan on not having a pre-wedding fund raising ju "wifey" thinks its "tacky" hence the long period to save up n also postpone the honeymoon!!

- you are planning for a wedo of late next year ?? kweli you are one very organized brother...
- Budget depends entirely on how deep your pockets are. Start from how much cash you have, then set the other parameters e.g. number of guests, size of cake, etc etc

- buy your clads huko diaspora...hapa Kenya people are making a kill out of weddings..

- i can make your rings... can i give you my Mpesa, Mkesho and ZAP numbers utume deposit?? (hurry, hurry and pay now because the KES is becoming stronger..Laughing out loudly )

#8 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 9:42:27 AM

@Nyaca$h;
Congrats!

You have a year to plan.

My advise:
1] Don't plan a wedding you cannot afford!
2] Spend at least as much on your honeymoon as you will spend on the wedding.
3] Don't look at what others are doing. Talk with your partner, compare your dream wedding with what you can afford.

#9 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 10:44:39 AM

Wiztec wrote:
ours is nota big a wedding we have paid about 80% of all providers and it now abt kshs 624k our guests will...

800k for a wedding is on the higher side!!! Cut it down!!

By the way, do you have your own house mister or you live in a rented one? Kama hauna nyumba yako basi wewe umepewa kababaa na huyo sister. Forget about the wedding nenda nunua mboloti ya kujenga!!
subaru
#10 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 11:02:15 AM

i second u kingfisher hiyo mbesha invest ikusaidie
#11 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 12:20:30 PM

Very good advise from @Mukiha

Plan a wedding you can afford. you call your friends to assist you with logistics and ideas not to contribute money to support your wedding.

Where do you get 500 guests? Wedding is supposed to be for the special people around your life that you treat like kings on that day for their support on that day.... Why not just invite those who really really matter to you and you will see your budget go down significantly and you will have people who really appreciate you on your wedding day.... not the "my neighbour's best friend's cousin's daughter"....
Wa_ithaka
#12 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 12:26:15 PM

Ksh800k! Kwani you are selling the wedding afterwards?
Imho, any wedding that costs more than Ksh300k for raia is stupidity...
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
conos
#13 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 12:42:56 PM

Pray Pray Pray how much r u paying for the dowry brother?????.i hope its included in 800k.if not iko noma.
Please don try this at home "DONT TAKE A LOAN"
Pray Pray
ukiona choo kwa ndoto usiingie, ni mtego!
winston
#14 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 1:19:04 PM

a) You have justed started a blue collar job
b) Your wife to be is in part-time employment
c) Your wife to be does not want a pre-wedding
d) You plan to fund wedding from your savings

Either you have a very well paying job or you are setting yourself up for a very tough wedding!
#15 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 1:35:03 PM

-You have just started a blue collar job
-Your wife to be is in part-time employment
-Your wife to be does not want a pre-wedding
-You plan to fund wedding from your savings.

You have all your priorities wrong.Close your eyes and imagine a cart before an ass!
aidha
#16 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 5:26:57 PM

There is a friend of mine who used kitu 300/- for a wedding though this one was in shags.

The Pastor + 2 witnesses + couple = 5 people

Thereafter kila mtu went his way. They live happily as far as i can observe
#17 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 7:55:44 PM

A wedding costs 800k? Does that include the wilting flowers at mid-day?
#18 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 8:14:55 PM

450-500 people for a wedding!!!???

If people say to you, "And you did not invite me to your wedding!" they do not necessarily hate you.

After 1 year probably less than 5% of the people who came to your wedding will remember it.

In terms of importance; if a wedding is the size of Migingo island a marriage is the size of the Continent of Africa. On top of love and understanding marriages also need money to run smoothly. The first days of a marriage are expensive. Unlike a wedding you can't fundraise for a marriage.

Your wife will always expect you to have money. "Honey, don't you remember we used all we had for the wedding." is an excuse that will not fly.

You must always have a little more money than your wife thinks you have.

At critical times Women are very intolerant of lack of money.

Think of it this way now that Wazuarians love aviation; Money is jetfuel, Wedding is takeoff and marriage is the flight. Do you want to get a perfect liftoff only to run out of fuel to complete the flight?

#19 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 9:19:24 AM

Think of it this way now that Wazuarians love aviation;

ProverB
#20 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 9:27:25 AM

nyaca$h wrote:

word of caution..

Never use money you do NOT have to impress people you do not even care about..they eat and leave..you pay.. finances have a way to subdue the strongest of love..

spend only what YOU CAN AFFORD!

seriously..

being a church/music minister, and of age..and all my friends getting married..i sadly realise..we have the same circle of friends and fundraisng means forking out money atleast ten times.. and expecting them to folk out for mine too..d'oh! d'oh! There just HAS TO BE ANOTHER WAY! seriously.
don't burden your friends by forcing commitment to give you cash.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version