wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

Where Did Mobile money Transfer ( M-pesa) come from?
gogeta
#1 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 11:07:36 AM

Someone tells me a guy in Congo came up with the idea which was bought by Vodafone and he was paid off. Uncle Google tells me Vodafone developed the idea. Where did Mpesa come from?
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
Horton
#2 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 11:12:44 AM

I recall some dude sued scom some time ago, he was Kenyan. And he claimed that he wasn't paid for his patented design for mesa platform. Dunno watt happened eventually as I vaguely remember reading this somewhere
gogeta
#3 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 11:25:33 AM

i might have posted in the wrong category..@Wazua Admin please move the post to the correct category.
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
#4 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 3:55:38 PM

I also read about that kenyan dude who wanted about 50m in the courts after he claimed kurushwa na safcom.whether he was sweettalked outside the courts ask mj because the news never surfaced again.
sizzla
#5 Posted : Saturday, August 21, 2010 10:33:11 AM

Actually the first money transfer service originated in the Philippines as early as 2001. Vodaphone only improved on this early platform and Kenya was among the early adopters (read guinea pig) in 2007.

Now the US wants to introduce a similar service but are concerned abt hackers and other IT security concerns...