11 Pages123>»
Safcom on a dive, whats going on?
Wa_ithaka
#1 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 10:56:49 AM

I think Safcom will see a 20% (at least), in perfomance and shareprice
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#2 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 11:43:29 AM

For speculators its time to sell but given that the telecommunication industry is at its infant stages selling it at this time does not make any sense.

By June 2009 we had a penetration rate of about 40-50% therefore there is still room for growth in the voice market ,the data market, well its surface has not yet been scratched.

Unless you are selling because of panic I still believe Safaricom hasn't reached its peak yet.
Wa_ithaka
#3 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 1:16:37 PM

Ikigusa Ksh5.50 you'll see mass exit
#4 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 1:48:46 PM

I hear its at 5.40
qw25041985
#5 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 1:53:22 PM

@ 5.10 now .
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#6 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 1:56:51 PM

Bethlehem steel....That's how you can easily be wiped off the face board.
Kwanini
#7 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 2:20:03 PM

Jana, 19th ma broker said 5.70 was too low to buy at. eti the market buying price was 5.85. Today the fellas have bought at 5.25 !! Good Gracious! We are back to 11th Sept 2008 when the sale price was 5.30!
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
Wa_ithaka
#8 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 2:57:37 PM

Assuming the interconnection charge goes down, this is a new business world for all the players.
Eveyrything being equal, ARPU for Safcom will fall which means a price of around Ksh4.60 might be good value.
the deal
#9 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 3:03:58 PM

wooow let the Sellers sell..i wish i was in Kenya right now i would have put my buy order now...btwn Zain will just roast its fingers with those new tariffs...Scom has a cocktail of products to keep Subscribers hooked like drug addicts...Mkesho...Mpesa...The modems....
sheep
#10 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 3:13:14 PM

hot industry gone cold...sasa tungojee massacre in cement industry.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
PKoli
#11 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 3:21:24 PM

sheep wrote:
hot industry gone cold...sasa tungojee massacre in cement industry.

Which companies will get the hit?
Ngalaka
#12 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 3:31:46 PM

I cant believe that the price is around 5.4!
Is smothing cooking?
Thought as we approach dividend payment the price would appreciate significantly.
Someone here said they expected the price to hit 7!!!
Seems increasingly unlikely now.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#13 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 3:35:14 PM

Perhaps if you check the EXISTING discussions maybe....

#14 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 3:36:40 PM

We need sellers so that we can pick good stocks at a bargain. While zain is trying to survive, saf is charging 8/- and making money and thats what matters!
#15 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 3:37:51 PM

Mazee @ngalaka umetuna ile mbaya.
niando
#16 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 3:38:43 PM

U dont know why?

Zain 3bob across all networks.

Who can beat that?
For bookkeeping and bank loan interest recalculation try us:niando.becia@gmail.com
#17 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 3:38:51 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

I cant believe that the price is around 5.4!
Is smothing cooking?
Thought as we approach dividend payment the price would appreciate significantly.
Someone here said they expected the price to hit 7!!!
Seems increasingly unlikely now.

kwani unaishi kwa shimo?
hisah
#18 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 3:44:07 PM

Scom's price has to give up the 5/- handle to become attractive once again with a renewed price war.
Of all the operators, it will take the biggest (62.5%)haircut from reducing from 8/- to march both Yu and Zain on voice tariffs. And the data tariff wars have not yet started in earnest... When Orange and Zain will go full blast on 3G, that will be another hit on scom. I wonder how the new CEO will cope this acid test. Quite an uneasy time for longterm share holders... At least some excitement for everyone after a lull. Time for the consumer to get spoilt Laughing out loudly
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
winston
#19 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 3:49:33 PM

And safaricom's response to Zain is as quoted below in an extract sent by a broker:

Extract from Susan Kilolo, Investor Relations Manager, Safaricom Limited.

The move by Bharti to reduce its Kenyan operations voice tariffs by 50% is an unsustainable pricing strategy. Zain (Bharti) seem to be banking on the Indian model of low tariffs & high volumes to increase MOU in a market with an elasticity of less than 1. Safaricom has no intention of getting engaged in a similar pricing strategy that would undermine our business and erode value for our shareholders. Safaricom will launch aggressive promotions to limit any market share gain by the competitors and at all times protect our revenue share. Reduction in MTR’s to Kshs. 2.21 will not have a significant impact financially on Safaricom as we are net receivers of off-net calls.

Safaricom has moved away from being a pure voice player to a total communications provider. We have always assumed that voice would move to be a low cost commodity and therefore we embarked on extending our offerings. We had provided for a reduction in tariffs as well as heightened competitor activity in the short term in our forecasts and in our discussions with the investment community in the past year. And to this end we have amplified our focus on cost efficiencies across the board and will continue to do so going forward. Expectations on EBITDA margins are still within the guidance we have provided to you and we should maintain it at the same level as last year’s. Our data strategy continues to gain traction as well as M-PESA which is growing from strength to strength.

Safaricom has invested significantly in its network having spent Kshs. 139 Billion since inception – more than any other operator in the country. Over the past two years we have invested significantly in our data network; fibre, 3G and Wimax. Safaricom is the only operator with a 3G network with over 600 3G-enabled & 140 Wimax base stations and a mobile money product that contributes positively to EBITDA margin. We are committed to our continued investment in our infrastructure to leverage on our strengths. Data combined with M-PESA will ensure that we will continue to benefit from the growth that we see in the Kenyan Market.

We do expect that there will be some volatility in the Market place but we firmly believe that Safaricom is in a significantly better position to weather this volatility than our competitors.

End of quote.

Seems Safcom will retain their 8/= per minute charge which incidentally higher than the share price at 5.10!
#20 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 3:56:28 PM

hisah wrote:
And the data tariff wars have not yet started in earnest... When Orange and Zain will go full blast on 3G, that will be another hit on scom.

Very interesting how we've all discarded other internet providers the likes of Access from our minds. They'd been exploiting us and now it's payback. Even the 'new' fiber optic cables don't seem to be helping them much. I think this exploitation thing by service providers is slowly coming to an end.