wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

KCB UNCOUTHNESS! Judge embarassed how many More???
Eddiemundu
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 6:27:00 AM

This has been my Bank for a very longtime and they have never tired of embarassing me too..they cant Cash a Joint Dividend Cheque worth a few hundred shillings and they require all the parties to be physically present at the Banking hall ..they dont recognize one partner even if the other parners have signed and submitted Id Cards.

What if 100,000 pple turn up to complain about Kcb...how much loss would be incurred on compensation,and so,what impact would that have on kcb's share Price?

Have you been Sucked up by KCB or YOUR Bank?

M'c Kende Siafu !
sizzla
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 6:57:00 AM

Unfortunately,there is a lot to be improved on in the KCB working structure. Aside from a judge being embarrassed,pensioners will also have their say today when the bank meets to discuss on an out of court settlement. What a shame!

...black woman and child
bird_man
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:14:00 AM

@Eddie

I work in a bank and i see nothing wrong in KCB refusing to cash a joint dividend cheque in that way.This is to protect the Bank. There are many cases where partners disagree or even forge their partners signatures and present cheques for cash.Now if the cash is over 100,000Ksh and its given out......the other partners can easily sue the bank for negligence.

Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Fundaah
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:18:00 AM

Bird_man ...are you the guy who was selling email addresses? .....and you work in a bank?....do you sell bank account information? ........if yes ...we are finished....

http://www.stockskenya.c...?stk=1004&top=12377

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
MADE
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:25:00 AM

@bird-man....With new ICT the world over,physical presence of all signatories is not a must. Some banks e.g BBK will always ring (use duly registered tel. nos) the other signatories to confirm their due knowledge of the presented cheque

I was born intelligent,education ruined me.
Age is transforming me into an Elder;becoz Admin hasn't made me one.
bird_man
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:42:00 AM

@Fundaah.....he he!

I no longer sell,I charge for you to use my software.And I would never dare sell such info,I have seen a guy in jail for it.Hakuna mchezo hapo!

Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
bird_man
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:46:00 AM

@MADE...

True,I had not seen that part. Yes a call is good enough to ALL partners.At least it works here.....maybe KCB have their reasons.
Fundaah
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:49:00 AM

Bird _man ..you know ......here we never forget.....like that Richsure guy is now a marked man....his words will never be taken seriously by anyone here...he has commited suicide on his character here...

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the Anti-corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
bird_man
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:52:00 AM

@Fundaah.....I have been at SK since 2006.You can mark me if you want,got nothing to hide.And i know what jail is like.There are boundaries I do not cross my friend.

Fundaah
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:54:00 AM

bird man did you read my post well...or are you the Richsure guy ?

Rules of the game here:

Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good....
It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt....

Jeremiah 17:11

As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.'

From the Anti-corruption campaigner..
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:55:00 AM

@Fundah: Yeah... Birdman is the type of tellers who collude with thugs to have you stripped of whatever you have withdrawn from (him) the bank. Shame on you Mr Birdman...
bird_man
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:57:00 AM

Fundaah & Magigi.....you are interesting people.Don't you think if what you were saying is true i would have changed my user name or hidden my email address?Opinions are free I guess.

Have a nice day and enjoy.

adept
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 8:00:00 AM

I thought this was a fantastic precedent although I couldn't get my mind off the fact that the guy is a judge so his pals had to....you know...help a brother out? Tricky because judges require justice at some point too right?
bird_man
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 8:04:00 AM

But it made me wonder,how do you quantify the embarrassment in monetary terms?And would a normal me also get a 2.5M award for the same kind of embarrassment?

#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 8:08:00 AM

Ati,2.5mn... bullshit... this was a clear case of favoritism coz of his fellow judges. Reminds me when a bookstore was told to pay biwott ma-millions... coz of his influence!

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
MADE
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 8:09:00 AM

The supermarket failed in customer service.....that is not how to handle a 'valued customer'. The shop shud hav communicated immediately with the bank's card centre to establish correct status of the card presented and even agree on other mode of payment to save judge from embarrassment. Of course the judge wasnt that stupid to present a card which had 'nothing'

...for this case,two service providers erred

I was born intelligent,education ruined me.
Age is transforming me into an Elder;becoz Admin hasn't made me one.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 8:16:00 AM

...I use my card all the time and in 1 out of 5 cases,it goes through. The supermaket calls I don't know where and authorisation is given. Did the supermarket do this. KCB should sue the supermarket for failing to do its work.

2. ...was the Judge shopping somewhere in Dandora where people do not know who the president of Kenya is...(no offence to the people of dando...)
wote
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 8:21:00 AM

@ Eddie i gree with you that K.C.B has very useless service and i actually rank K.c.b Moi avenue as the worst bank in the world.

On that jugdgement,i believe its bad in law and will have bad impact on the credit card business in Kenya.The most suitable decission would have been an apology to the judge. This fellow had only 19k and there is a posibility that it was rejected either by mistake,his shopping exceeded the agreed limit or there were just no funds,he should have called them up and sorted the issue out instead of resorting to courts where he being a judge would influence the out come and unfairly enrich himself.

Last year some european billionaire had his card rejected at Nairobi Hilton,he spent the night on the veranda,called his card insurer the next morning problem solved and an apology sent to him there after.

Unlike the bank itself K.C.B visa card centre is very well managed and has an excellent customer service.

His next award will be against the minister for planning for removing toilet seats in a house sold to him by the latter,what a good way of making money bwana judge. Bure kabisa.

wote
Chaka
#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 8:31:00 AM

I thought I read somewhere that KCB had appealed on the grounds that the judge had exceeded his credit limit of kshs 50,000?

Is being a judge the ultimate profession in this country ?
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 8:45:00 AM

@bird_man Check the biz Ideas section... you will see what Fundaah was talking about on email addresses

@all

usually compensation depends on your standing/reputation(or should i say if you are a public figure or not)/impact of such defaced reputation in public when it comes to individuals... For this case,i believe 2.5m was a rip-off to the bank by the judge for the 'embarrassment'!!!! the same judges would probably not have given the same award to someone of the same ranking in the society!!!!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.