Polygamy
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 1:18:33 PM

One man, one woman
One life to live together
One chance to take that never comes back again
You and me, to the end

-ABBA
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 1:46:34 PM

[quote=kadonye]One man, one woman
One life to live together
One chance to take that never comes back again
You and me, to the end

-ABBA[
thats why God cretaed one woman for adam and not two
Pablo
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 2:10:10 PM

See what I mean.
Forcing men to act against their basic nature.
Not that men cannot. Its just needs to be apprciated that it is against nature.

Just like asking people to be gays!!
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 2:17:40 PM

Pablo wrote:
Ive always asked people (read mamas), for 1,999,900 years men were openly polygamous, in the last 50 - 100 years we are told we must be monogomous. Evolution takes time. Even those strictly monogomous men have really tried as the nature of the human male species is polygamous.

I once told my wife that womens fight for equality started with the discovery of the birth control pill. This allowed them to control when they got pregnant. This was in the early seventies and since then things have been uphill (or is it downhill). If i died and came back after 100 years, women will be marring the men and in another 100 years one woman will marry manay men.

Think about it.

Pablo.... i get your drift which actually may not reach the point of women marrying many men because i dont know where the man's ego will be that time but the way things are going, women might be marrying men in not so distant future..... (I pity my son!)

However, i think the problem hasnt really been women's expectations only. it has been the economy. Trust me, even if you were given another wife today, you will quickly run to the opposite direction. why? as much as you(man) would want to be polygamous, the economy and its demands does no allow you to maintain such union.... and especially, when the society still looks up to the man to be the 'bread winner'. In those 1,999,990 years, there were no 'expensive' education, no working 12 hrs to put a meal on the table, no rents, no taxes, life was bliss, if anything, the kids and women did most of the work. Demands were less even for the man and hence, he had the time to put his house in order.

In today's order, the problem is the limited resources... that what women guard with their lives when they hit the roof at a mention of a girlfriend leave alone a wife.
#15 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 2:17:59 PM

I tend to agree with @pablo, equality started with discovery of birth control. Otherwise, men were polygamous to give their wives time to bring up the new born. I think it worked fine but I doubt it can at this time and age.
#16 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 2:20:02 PM

Pablo wrote:

Just like asking people to be gays!!
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Pablo
#17 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 2:45:46 PM

By the way Wendz, even in the time of our great grand fathers women worked. Possibly harder than men.

Remember that the farms were not in the villages but far off. Akina my grandma would wake up at 5am, milk the cows then strap the kid on their backs and treck 3km or more to where the shamba was. Tend the farm till jioni and walk back.

So who says that women did not work and were waiting to be fed??

There is no difference today they still work maybe harder than men.
I however agree that long ago their efforts were no recognised as today.
KADUSI
#18 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 2:48:34 PM

What men are forgetting is by the time they r running after the 2nd and 3rd-------10th wife,their 1st wife are smarter and on noticing she too got options and strategies.Men end up finding their 1st wives with other men.Society has changed.
#19 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 3:05:00 PM

@carygoh.....wake wawili au watatu ni sawa hasa. Kuja kwangu kuna nafasi
Pablo
#20 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 4:27:42 PM

Boss you already have three.
The ones I know!!