wazua Thu, Apr 23, 2026

103 Pages«<1415161718>»
Question for a4architect
atiriri
#151 Posted : Wednesday, June 30, 2010 3:19:07 PM

@archi

unachora plan ya 3 bedroom massionate na pesa ngapi inbox me please.japuonjluke@hotmail.com
ECHOKENYA
#152 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 5:14:33 PM

I wish to know the depth one should go when building on black-cotton soil?
http://echoproperties.kbo.co.ke
Echo estate management Limited
atiriri
#153 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 4:25:59 PM

atiriri wrote:
@archi

unachora plan ya 3 bedroom massionate na pesa ngapi inbox me please.japuonjluke@hotmail.com

Still waiting
#154 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 6:26:42 PM

@Echo, you must get to the hard surface- mawe or rather where the black cotton soil ends and marram starts. Thus there is no standard lakini it depends on the specific area and the gradient and marshiness of the place.
Gatheuzi
#155 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 9:41:47 PM

I just came across an article in today's Daily Nation in the Money magazine pg 6. A4architect is featured there about his online consulting.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
tom_boy
#156 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 11:18:24 PM

I am in a dillema. I am putting up a 4br maisonette that is slightly unique in that the upper floor walls only go up by 1.1m and then I have dormer windows and part of the room is in the roof. When doing the ground floor, we put a 450mm thick ring beam which includes a 150mm thick slab. House is on red soil, measures 18m by 9.5m. To me, this ring beam seamed extra thick compared to what I see on other buildings lakini since it was indicated in the architectural drawings we went ahead and put it. Sasa, I am almost at the 1.1m mark and the fundi insists there must be another ring beam before we secure the roof. This second ring beam is not indicated in the drawings and I have seen houses with roofs that are not sitting on a ring beam. Pesa inakwisha bwana and I am wondering if this second ring beam is necessary. Please give me your inputon this.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Pablo
#157 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 10:16:13 AM

It is true that you need a ring beam before the roof. Typically youd do this ring beam complete with the chumas then do another two courses before roofing.

You however say your upper walls are 1.1m. The purpose of the upper ring beam among others is to ensure the 2.5M or so of wall is well belted.

With 1.1M of walls, I dont see you needing too many chumas for the second ringbeam as the forces are much less than kawaida. I hope youve spoken to a friendly engineer on the same. Fundis will not know how to design that beam and will do how other ring beams are normally done.

But prepare yourself for a ring beam anyway.

atiriri
#158 Posted : Monday, August 09, 2010 10:20:09 AM

@Pablo,

where are your offices?
Pablo
#159 Posted : Monday, August 09, 2010 4:15:13 PM

By the way am not a builder just been baptised with fire during my ongoing mjengo. You can contact me at pnganga at mailcity dot com
qadaffi
#160 Posted : Wednesday, August 18, 2010 3:54:35 PM

@Pablo,

I would still like to seek your counsel.

Do you have any tips regarding roofing? I am approaching that stage in about 3 weeks time hence any word from one who has gone before would be quite helpful.

I am currently shopping for a reasonable vendor who can give me a good range of products to choose from. So far have been in touch with Duratile and Metrotile but would like to compare more.

Sitaki kuumiza mfuko sana, if you get my drift.
103 Pages«<1415161718>»